Cart

No products in the cart.

Small Town

Isabelle – Arcachon – Immersion at French Teacher’s By The Ocean (Yoga Option)

image: Isabelle - French Immersion Homestay in ArcachonIsabelle L

€1300 per week

Lessons: 15 hours

Excursions/tours: 2

Meals: 3 per day

Room: Private bedroom & shared bathroom

Max. guests: 1 guest to one couple

Teaches kids: Age 6 and up

Other: Pets welcome. Free group yoga session.

Contact teacher
Discover the exquisite region of Arcachon with this unique French immersion homestay by the beach. With its warm microclimate, Arcachon is a great destination year round: it’s a sportive’s paradise, a nature-lover heaven, a seafood wonderland! Discover this unique region of France, practice yoga while improving your French under French teacher / yoga instructor's Isabelle kind guidance and company.

Your French Immersion Homestay in France, by the Ocean

Meet Your French Teacher and Family

Bonjour and welcome to my home.

My name is Isabelle, I am in my late forties and a native French teacher with solid experience in teaching French in international schools abroad and tutoring. I am also a certified Yoga teacher.

I started teaching French in Houston, USA about 10 years ago and after moving to Malaysia, I taught at the “Alliance Française” + international schools in Kuala Lumpur.
I was lucky to live 11 years abroad in 5 different countries, (The Congo, South Africa, Scotland, USA and Malaysia) and enjoyed lots of travelling all around the globe, both for work and leisure.

My partner Bruno and I, live in Parentis-en-Born, a quiet, safe, modern residential city nested between the ocean, the lakes, and Arcachon Bay. My son Théotim (16) lives with us part-time, and my older son Guillaume sometimes visits us on the weekends.

When you come to stay with us, you’ll practice your French in an authentic, unpretentious, low-key atmosphere : we are quite sportive, spend a lot of time at the beach and we enjoy a simple lifestyle such as barbecuing in the garden with friends.

On top of the structured French lessons, I will include you in my everyday activities as much as possible and offer to share a relaxing time with Yoga which I teach in a school several times a week.

And last but not least, you’ll get plenty of French practice with my two dogs: they are patient listeners, and will agree with everything you say.

See you soon in Le Bassin d’Arcachon !


Welcome to Our House Near Arcachon, France

“Parentis-en-Born” is a safe city not far from of Arcachon. Shops, restaurants, bike paths, beaches, ocean and lakes: everything is at hand.

We live in a modern house, located in a safe building and housing ensemble. We enjoy a private yard in which we love to relax and barbecue.

Our house is unpretentious: it’s not big, but it’s comfy and private: all the French don’t live in an eighteen century mansion or a large family house! Before this house, I lived in a small flat in Arcachon. My house and garden is a dream come true for me: with my family, you’ll experience an authentic French immersion and see how the French really live nowadays.

The house has three bedrooms: my bedroom, Théotim’s and your bedroom, a sunny living room / dining room, the eat-in kitchen, a separate toilet and we all share the bathroom.

Bakeries, cafés, restaurants, supermarkets and other small grocery shops are available across the street. The train station is 11kms away (Ychoux) with direct access to Bordeaux (45 minutes away).

Your Bedroom

Your private room is quiet and sunny since there is a big double window overlooking our private garden. There is a queen size bed, bedside tables, a desk, a wardrobe. You’re also enjoy a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine.

Please note that the bathroom is shared with us: it can get crowded at times, but we manage: it’s very common for French families to share one bathroom, and you’re coming here to experience life in a French family, don’t you?

The Region of Arcachon in France

Arcachon is a lovely seaside French town. It’s known for its 1900 architecture, amazing parks and beaches,  and super fresh seafood. French people are not stressed here: we live by the sea and enjoy nature to its fullest.

The whole region shares this low-key vibe. Because of its ideal location by the ocean and it’s mild climate year-round, it’s a popular region that has developed a lot lately. There are many new residential towns such as Parentis-en-Born to explore, gorgeous beaches, lakes, birds reserves and parks. If you want, I’ll be happy to lend you a bike.

La Dune du Pilat (highest sand dune in Europe, named 2nd world most beautiful beach) is 40 minutes away by car. « L’île aux oiseaux » et « Le Banc d’Arguin », « Cap Ferret » , are only a boat ride away; Bordeaux, its nearby castles, exquisite wines and authentic vineyards is at a 45 minute drive.

I’m quite sportive myself: if you like to join me for yoga, you may tag along to the group classes I teach (complimentary).
For horseback riding or simply the company of beautiful horses and the countryside, I’ll take you to my riding club. We can also play tennis together, my club is at a walking distance from my house.

We love the sea and enjoy practicing pretty much all the sea related sports!

If you are even more adventurous we can arrange other activities like paragliding, surfing, kite-surfing…

Practical Info About Your French Immersion Residential Course

Getting To My House

You can reach my house by taking the train to Ychoux or Bordeaux and hire a car. The nearest airport is Bordeaux, and I pick-up at Bordeaux Airport can easily be arranged for Euros 50.

Car Rental

Hiring a car is strongly recommended if you want to be more independent and discover the area on your own,  there is so much to see around here!

Wifi

Wifi is reliable throughout the house.

Smoking

We do not smoke, but smoking is possible outside.

Diets

My region is famous for its incredible fresh produce such as oysters, fish and seafood, fruits & vegetables, chicken, cheese and duck…

I usually like to cook gluten free meals and personally I don’t eat meat, so it can be all vegetarian as well. But I do cook meat for my son and my friends, so I’ll be happy to prepare whatever pleases you: I understand students also want to enjoy the local French food!

Pets

We have a friendly female dachshund and a male spitz who would love to welcome your pet companion, granted s/he is as friendly and obedient as they are (hum…)

A typical 1 week (7 days, 6 night) immersion includes but is not limited to:

  • 15 hours of french courses (usually 3 hours in the morning, but can be flexible)
  • 3 meals a day (breakfast, lunch and dinner) that we’ll be happy to share with you unless you’d rather take off on your own.
  • Accommodation in a nice and sunny room in my house. We will share the bathroom.
  • 2 accompanied excursions or cultural activities*

At the end of the stay, I will give you a report of your French courses + advice to go on improving your French with some references of useful websites and books.

*extra fees are not included (museums, kayak/canoe tours or rentals, surf sessions, sailing, etc…)

For this program, the price for one person is 1300 Euros.

Additional Guest

For one additional guest, the price per week is:

  • Euros 315 in full board, without lessons or excursions,
  • Euros 805 in full board with shared lessons and excursions.

Learn French + Yoga

Yoga is more than a passion, it is a way of life. As I love teaching, it was only natural for me to share my yoga experience as well, so I became a certified yoga instructor in 2014.

I give small group classes near my place and you are welcome to attend, at no extra cost.

I give one to one sessions as well, totally suitable to individual needs, so if you are interested, I’ll be delighted to discuss that option with you.

When the weather permits, we can practice outside, on the beach, while enjoying the soothing sound of the waves, or at the park with birds’ songs.

Isabelle L

Contact Isabelle

French Immersion Teacher in Arcachon

  • Date Format: DD slash MM slash YYYY
  • Date Format: DD slash MM slash YYYY
  • Please write a detailed message for the teacher including:
    1. Whether you’ll be traveling by yourself or with friends/family (and if applicable the number of people just staying at the teacher or also taking classes and a bit more about them)
    2. The duration of your desired immersion stay and whether you are flexible about the immersion dates
    3. A few details about yourself: your hobbies, your French learning goal, the kind of immersion you'd like (little/lots of homework, outdoor or more indoor activities), any food allergies or other problems you may have. The teachers will be opening their own home to you and although they’ll ask you more questions if they are able to fit you in, knowing a bit about you from the start would be really helpful and a huge gain of time.

1/2
Stayed in September 2019

Rick

Confession time: Unlike so many people, I am not naturally gifted with the ability to learn a second language. So in order to truly challenge myself I knew it was essential I step outside my comfort zone of a classroom in Australia and immerse myself in the French language and culture I so much a… Read more

Stayed in October 2019

Mike & Jenny

Jenny and I enjoyed our week with you and did appreciate being welcomed into your home.

The food, trips to the junes and yoga were very good.

The French was frustrating for me, not yet being able to understand the talking between you and Jenny, but it has highlighted the next step f… Read more

1/2
Stayed in September 2019

Caroline

Isabelle immediately welcomed me and requested that I treat her home as my own.

She is funny and enthusiastic about everything she does. She was a wonderful hostess and we enjoyed delicious vegetarian meals and a class of yoga together with her family.

Every morning we studied and t… Read more

1/2
Stayed in August 2019

Sarah

(Message from Sarah’s father) Sarah tells me she has had a lovely day today (Friday) and that she has really enjoyed her time with you and your family (note from Isabelle: Sarah and I went to a concert on the lake). Thank you all, for helping her with her French.

1/2
Stayed in June 2019

Ann

Recently I completed a week of French immersion with Isabelle. It was an amazing experience.

Her apartment was very sunny, comfortable and quiet. Theotim, her son, was fun and delightful to be around. Her cooking was delicious and she introduced me to the wines and specialities of the regi… Read more

Erin - immersion franceErin - immersion france
1/2
Stayed in May 2019

Erin

My stay with Isabelle was everything one can hope for with an immersion stay. From the time she and her partner, Abel, met me at the airport to my departure, I felt comfortable and welcome.

The formal lessons were varied but still structured. I particularly liked a few of the methods that … Read more

1/5
Stayed in April 2019

Klara

I had such a great time with Isabelle! The highlight of my week was when we went on a hiking trip and did some birdwatching with a group of other people, the views were breathtaking and the people were all lovely and being immersed in so much French conversation was very useful.

For me the… Read more

katherine - french immersion student france arcachon beachkatherine - french immersion student france arcachon beachkatherine - french immersion student france arcachon beach
1/3
Stayed in March 2019

Katherine

In March I had a wonderful week in an immersion program with Isabelle. In thinking about how to describe my stay, I realized that most of what I was thinking of saying has already been said by many others. That just goes to show what a consistently great experience Isabelle provides! She is… Read more

Your first French Audiobook is on us! 😉

Download our 2.5-hour audiobook and see how different and efficient our method is. Available for iOS and Android as well as Mac and Windows.

Get Started for Free 2.5-hour audiobook recorded at 3 different speeds with full transcript